Garden Shed Make-over

shed "after" photoshed "before"

Many of us have inherited the old metal garden shed from the previous homeowner.  Mine was beige and lifeless and unfortunately placed in a very visible part of the yard.  I dressed it up by painting faux window panes and banana leaves, and I attached wood shutters painted with a crackle finish, added a palm thatch roof and some bright tropical colors.  There is a hand-painted wood sign over the door that says “Island Lei Shop”.  Adjacent the shed is a raised bed for tomato plants and instead of adding shade fabric to give the tomato plants some relief from the summer sun, I use a colorful beach umbrella stuck into the soil.  I’ve included some pink flamingos and a hot pink motel chair for extra kitsch.  There are also mini twinkling lights that come on every night along the shed roofline.  Maybe some day I will have a real cabana to work with but for now this will do!  Anyone could do this with some paint … remember just have fun and there are no mistakes!

Sharon Miller – PANGLE MILLER DESIGN – Landscape Architecture- PHOENIX, AZ 602.404.7500

~ by Sharon Miller on May 20, 2009.

One Response to “Garden Shed Make-over”

  1. I love my garden shed and it keeps all my gardening tools out of site. I have some window boxes on mine that I just love to fill with flowers.

    http://www.backyardcity.com/Storage-Sheds/CSI-Rancher-R812.htm

Leave a comment